This week in class we watched a British classic, the movie “39 steps” by Gaumount British Distributors Studios. The film had a budget of about 50,000 pounds which is about 3.4 million pounds today, that about 4.4 million dollars. The story of the movie is loosely based of a book called “The Thirty-Nine Steps” by John Buchan. The movie is about a guy who was falsely accused of murder in Britain and needed to go on the run to Scotland to clear his name. In the process of clearing his name he was also revealing that their was a secret spy agency that was trying to steal top secret British information. I enjoyed the film way more than I thought. I was again expecting an old cheesy movie. But to my surprise this movie kept me full attention all the way through. This movie was so well put together by the director, Alfred Hitchcock. The movie main character had many some what romantic relationship with people through out the movie. It made him look like a really cool lady’s man. The movie had many funny moments throughout the movie that enjoyed especially when Hannay and Pamela were hand cuffed together.

Also earlier this week a couple of our classmates presented about the movie “The Best Years of Our Lives” . I never heard of or watched this movie before. They explained to us that the movie was produced and made by Samuel Goldwyn Productions. They told us that the movie was directed by William Wyler and distributed by RKO Radio Pictures. From what I understand the movie is about three World War two veterans returning home from the war back to the families. They each came back to a different problems caused by the war. Al problem is that he came back home and all of his kids are all grown up. They barley recognize each other. So much time apart from his family has caused a weird and awkward relationship with his family. Fred comes back to his wife that he married just a month before he left to the war. The problem is his wife does not want to be with him anymore because of the job he has. While homer problem is that he came back from the war with both of his lower arms gone. He was engaged with a woman but was afraid to face her since he was disabled. Just from the amazing explanation and presentation from my classmates I can say that this movies sounds very sad but important. It shined light on the many issues that veterans faced when they came back home. In class we spoke that some people at the time thought it was wrong to use homer in the movie because he really was a handicapped world war two veteran but I do not. When I heard that some people thought it was a distraction to have him in the movie and that is completely absurd. Homer added character to the movie. It sounded like he really help make the movie more raw and real.

2 thoughts on “

  1. I agree with you that Homer adds character to the movie. A lot of soldiers who have come home from the war with missing parts probably felt a lot more comfortable about their situation when they saw that they still had the potential to lead a glamorous life. The way they showed the struggles of three returning soldiers was able to show how some people did not realize Homer’s struggles.

    Like

  2. I found your cost analysis and conversion into today’s, money very helpful. I too found this film very engaging, and had no trouble keeping my attention with its genuine funny scenes, and great acting.
    In addition, I found your further coverage of the group’s presentation also helpful. I appreciated your extended explanation of the events that transpired during the film as well as the characters and each of their traits. I really felt that I got a better grasp of this film even though I haven’t watched it.

    Like

Leave a comment