WW2 films

The week started off with many different films like “Thin Red Line”, “WW2 in Color”, and “Bring Darkness into light”. So far, I have found this class interesting because of how well it links up with my 20th Century history class. This week we also learned a lot about WW2 and the atrocities committed by armies during this war. With “WW2 in Color” we were able to see the battles both on land and sea and the concentration camps. In my history class we learned that there were two types of camps; either they sent Jewish people to concentration camps for work or they went to execution camp. The images from the camp were just awful and really makes you wonder who could do something like this.  To hear what these soldiers were seeing and described by them I think would be unreal for those people they were sending it to. Some of my favorite quotes was a soldier saying “Not sure if this will be the last letter I send” is a scary thought to come to realize. One id did find funny was the German kid saying how the American soldiers always had chocolate and cigarettes. I have seen “WW2 in Color” a few times and it images never seem it change how I feel.

The next film we watched was “Thin Red Line” that spoke on the fighting in the Pacific. The war in the Pacific was much deadlier than the fighting against the Germans. This was the due to the Japanese fighting style to never quit and I found it to be similar the ideas of the Spartan Armies. In the film, we saw an army commander get told to go home because he was” soft” and would rather do what’s best for his men than follow commands. He was let go because it would be better for all and said he would be sent home well decorated. The intro leading to this seen showed the fear of an impeding battle and the horror during this battle.

We finished up the week watching “Casablanca”, a film that spoke on the trouble of trying to escape a war-torn Europe.  For a movie that had so many issues with actors, filming and writing was so excellently crafted and produced. The film was full of funny quotes and question constantly left unanswered. I found it especially funny that the official closed the pub because of gambling as he received his winnings from the roulette table. He then also stated earlier on in the film that he is a poor corrupt official with is a funny statement because most corrupt officials use their position to gain more money. One thing I did find strange that never got answered was when Rick kept asking to marry Ilsa he had a wedding ring on his finger. I found that odd and never heard anything about his own marriage, but he is open to the idea. The film had some famous quotes that I knew even before seeing this like when he is drinking and wonder why out of all the pubs, she had to walk into mine. Th film was wonderful, and I may have to watch again to see if I missed anything.

In this image you can see the ring on his finger.

2 thoughts on “WW2 films

  1. Spencer, I also have grown even more appreciative of this class because of the significant parallels between this class, and 20th Century World History.

    The images that the Holocaust produced are most definitely some of the worst that anyone could ever imagine to lay their eyes on. Which again begs the question how did this go on for so long, and what menace could do this to millions upon millions of people.

    I never even noticed the ring on Rick’s finger and now I am questioning what the reason was for him having it on. However, after doing my research, Rick was married four times, yes 4 times during his life. So it may have been a simple prop malfunction and he forgot to take it off and nobody noticed that he had it on. But none the less, it is very interesting that you noticed that small detail in the grand scheme of things.

    I also found Casablanca to be most hilarious during the scenes that involved the official. It would seem that he serves as a sort of comedic relief during this film bordering on noir.

    Like

  2. I like how you made the connection from what we are doing in film to what you are doing in your doing in your 20th century history class. I know that Always find things much more interesting when I can link them to what I am doing in more than one class. I agree that the subtle humor is what really made the film. And I also never realized the ring on his finger in the film, Im finding it very interesting the from reading different blog posts, new questions about the film are coming to me and I am realizing a lot more about it.

    Like

Leave a comment