Singing Bank Robbers in the Rain

This week started off like any other week, where we viewed or discussed a movie I have never seen. This one was “Singing in the Rain”, we all have heard and seen the song; I have known it, and many have tried to recreate it when it rains. It is one of those iconic movies that you don’t need to watch because most people know it. The second group did a great job of presenting this film with lots of visuals to go along with the film. For me, who has never seen the film before these images really helped to understand the film more. This was by far the best presentation, but the bar is going to be set high for the next group.

After the presentation, I was not sure who enjoyed it more; the group presenting or Professor Schlegel. I thought it was funny to hear the two go back and forth about their favorite parts. This led to us viewing some great and iconic scenes from the movie like the leg of Cyd Charisse or the fit as a fiddle performance. Both were fun and very entertaining to view. I guess I never knew how much I knew about a film I never saw.

We then went on to watch the tale of two lovers who robbed and killed to survive the challenges of the Great Depression. Yes, I am speaking of the tale of Bonnie and Clyde, two of the most famous bank robber duos in history. Almost every child has heard of these two, they are up there with other criminals like Jesse James or Billy the Kid. We all know their tale and their demise. So, like these two, Bonnie and Clyde felt the same fate which was crazy for us because it came so late in the film. We watch them have issues expressing their feelings and soon after they do, we watch them get gunned down. You really can’t trust anyone, especially when you are wanted murderers and bank robbers.

Jesse James
Billy the Kid

The movie I though was kind funny. The fact that Bonnie and Clyde would just pull up and tell people that they are bank robbers and murderers just seems crazy. Like how you just walk up or finish getting your car fixed and tell that person “we rob banks”. This doesn’t seem like a great way of making an introduction but was entertaining for us. The film was so far one of the best ones, we have watched yet in this class.

One of the best parts in the movie was a great cameo by the late Gene Wilder. I have grown up seeing him in many different roles and movies like Willy Wonka and Blazing Saddles. His part in the film had some great comic relief, especially when they went from chasing the gang to being chased by the gang. The fact that they road around and had dinner with them seems odd. I think this was by far my favorite part of the movie.

1 thought on “Singing Bank Robbers in the Rain

  1. I get what you’re saying, I never saw singing in the rain before but there were so many iconic scenes that I grew up knowing, I feel like I knew so much more about it than I thought. It is littered throughout pop culture that even if you haven’t seen the film you probably know more about it than you think. I even have a photo when I was younger of myself with the umbrella and light post from the area in Disney world that has all of the movie sets after I watched it I went back and looked at that photo and laughed.

    Like

Leave a comment