Bonnie and Clyde

I would like to start my blog this week by congratulating this week’s presenters for our class. I have seen “Singing in the Rain” and I found it very enjoyable to have been once again presented with the beauty that comes along with that film. Since elementary school, I have sung songs form that score as a warm up for many concerts with the chorus, and seeing some of the clips the group showed, brought me right back, to the first time I experienced this film.

“Bonnie and Clyde” was this weeks’ feature film screening, and I could not have had more anticipation towards this film. I had never seen this film before, but everyone has heard of Bonnie and Clyde, and the acts that enamored the rural west, and cemented their name in our nation’s history for better or worse.

From the very begging of the film, I was drawn to Dede Allen’s flawless editing, and artistic design that accounted for what the film became, which has been supported as one of the most important films of the 1960’s.

One thing that was very unexpected to me was Bonnie and Clyde’s relationship. Being outlaws, and not doing anything by the books would lead someone to believe they would have been involved in intercourse throughout the film. However, Clyde seemed like he wanted nothing sexual out of their relationship; continuously stating that he wasn’t a lover boy. He ensued throughout the film to avoid any and every intimate moment and situation that he and Bonnie found themselves in. This aspect of their relationship kept me guessing exactly when they would become more involved and led me to become engulfed in their every scene and line.

Along with the ever-rising tension between Bonnie and Clyde, there were also so many comedic moments that simply put, warmed my heart, and made me enjoy the film even more. The first example that comes to me, is the first journey that the gang embarks on with Clyde and Buck riding in the same car, laughing and having a great time. Meanwhile the atmosphere could not have been any different in Bonnie, and Buck’s wife’ car.

The most hilarious sequence of scenes in the entire film, was Gene Wilder’s appearance. His character totally caught me off-guard, and I had no idea that he would be in this film. This sequence I speak of, was helped greatly once again by the editing of Dede Allen. The way she spliced together different stages of His and his partner’s interactions with the gang was in my opinion one of the funniest comedic feats I have ever seen.

As I found with most of the scenes, the action within this film goes from 0-100 really quick. There is no other way to say it other than one minute they’re eating chicken dinners and sleeping, the next, a tank is rolling up, and grenades are being thrown out of hotel windows complimented with seemingly never-ending crack of machine guns.

After watching this film, I was heartbroken, even though I knew the “cut-throat” couple would inevitably die, I was hoping that maybe this rendition of their story would let me down easy.

I thoroughly enjoyed watching this film, it brought joy, laughter, and tears to my eyes. I agree, that this is one of the most important films of the 1960’s.

5 thoughts on “Bonnie and Clyde

  1. Wow! That’s sweet how you have sung a lot of these songs. These are some older films, who got you inspired to watch them, or have you always enjoyed musicals? I know for myself, my grandmother was a big fan of many musical films like Grease and she was the one who showed them to me. Who was your inspiration?
    I also enjoyed the editing work from Dede Allen, I liked the part when Bonnie and Clyde went and met her mother for the last time. The whole film seemed like it was clouded or had a film over it like it was a memory. The fact that the two groups were able to get together was too good to be true. Which in a way it was and Bonnie didn’t realize it until it was over. You could feel the heart break and her foolishness, now knowing she could never come home. I almost felt like Clyde would have been smarter and stayed away from where this all started.
    I would have to disagree with you. I think that the bond and relationship between Bonnie and Clyde only made them a better outlaw. It makes them more connect and a better duo. I wonder if in real life was Clyde not much of a lover boy or did, he say the because he was hurt once before. Maybe another girl was the reason he was in prison in the first place.

    Like

  2. I, too, had much anticipation for Bonnie and Clyde. My first encounter with their story, was when my parents told me they used to have a dog named Bonnie. When I asked them about the name, my father said it came from a notoriously badass outlaw that dominated the 30s.

    I thought the film was so satisfying—it had suspense, comedy, and love. You’re not alone in saying that you thoroughly enjoyed the film!

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you mentioned Dede Allen’s editing here, I feel as though she’s criminally underappreciated with her masterful skills. Gene Wilder is always a fantastic surprise to see in a movie, and this was no exception, showing off his considerable acting chops.

    Like

  4. I agree with the “caught off guard moment”. I didn’t expect to see Gene Wilder ( who has always been Willy Wonka in my head) pop up on screen, it was funny. They talk about actors playing one role and just kind of being seen as that character forever, although i don’t completely feel that way about Gene it is the first thing that popped into my head when I saw him

    Like

  5. Very glad that you enjoyed the presentation. I also was anticipating this weeks topics, as I have always been a fan of singing in the rain, and since I heard that we were watching Bonnie and Clyde, I had been looking forward to it. Although I was not in class to experience the screening with the rest of you, I watched the film at home and loved every minute of it.

    Like

Leave a comment