1970s Films

We started off the week with the French New Way. This was an idea fueled by the idea of making film as art and not as a product. Sometimes that is the biggest issue, people get into something for the money and that is what it gets based around. Not with this, the new wave brought many smaller studios and independent film makers to the scene to create master pieces. I do find it funny how any time we talk about some of the greats like Jean Luc Godard or Francois Truffaut; professor describes them all as a mind fuck or you will be confused by the end. It makes me laugh every time, but also wonder why they are so great if everyone is confused. I felt that with Wild Strawberries, and I was kind of frustrated. Like it left us with too many questions, and I wasn’t sure what the larger idea was. I guess I cannot be a great love of the arts.

After this wave, we ride the American New Wave into the 1970s.  With this we see the Corman trained directors that we know and love like Woody Allen, George Lucas, Steven Spielberg, and many more. We are getting into films I know and love. With greats like Star Wars, E.T., and the Exorcist. All of these are still relevant to today’s society. All of them are before my generation, but we still know of their impact and their importance in Hollywood and society. Who knows where the horror would be without the Exorcist? Would we have films like Paranormal Activities or The Conjuring? These Roger Corman trained directors gave us some of the most impactful films ever.

Tonight, we watch Poseidon Adventure. We once again were blessed with Gene Hackman for the second week in a row. I really like him much better because this time he did not have his wife from Bonnie and Clyde. It was the first film I watched that drove me insane. I couldn’t stand the anticipation and a few of the characters. The disaster film idea is not one of my favorites. In the film and in class, I and a lot of other class mates were ready to scream at Nonnie. She was constantly causing delays and problems with the group; from her getting stuck on the ladder to not being able to swim. I was ready to jump out of my seat because of her. I have never been a fan of these type of movies, but I did like it.

With this movie, I was in a constant state of anticipation. I was wonder what was going to happen next or who is going to die. I wanted to say that I was surprised that Belle died, but she was constantly ready to go the whole time. I did think that her death was drawn out and almost comical. I was frustrated that after everything that happened and all the good the Reverend was able to do, he died. I was in shock; why would you just let him drop dead right at the end with the finish line was right there. I may not watch another disaster movie again, but I am glad we chose to watch this instead of Jaws. N/A

2 thoughts on “1970s Films

  1. Spencer, I thought your description of the French New Wave was spot on. The transition that film made during this area brought around many pieces of actual art, instead of just quickly assembled products designed to make money. That is not to say that there aren’t plenty of films that were quickly assembled that are indeed masterpieces themselves. But as you said, these mind bending works of art, are one of a kind, and will forever be recognized as a part of the French new wave.

    I also felt many of the things you did when I watched the film. The biggest of those being the anticipation. It goes without restating it that you enjoyed this film as much as I did, and you observed it very similar to how I did.

    Like

  2. I like your French new wave description, put things in an easy to understand way. I myself was not looking forward to the film that we watched this week, however, I enjoyed reading what you wrote about it and how much you enjoyed the film. I have my own bias about films like this, but reading your post has helped me look at the film without my own personal bias.

    Like

Leave a comment