Midnight Movies

Found this the best way to start this blog

Once again, we discussed the issue that Hollywood is running into and their economic distress. Competition between Hollywood and television is a constant struggle and the two see to be consistently butting heads. So how does Hollywood solve this issue to get people out of their homes and into theaters? Spectacles were the answer. Hollywood can do more special effects than you can ever see on your televisions. No one knew better on how to attract a younger audience and usher in the new era for the studios then the Roger Corman trained film brats. These directors are a constant in past blogs and future because they shape what we know about Hollywood today.

This led to more films based around the anti-heroes. We saw this with Bonnie and Clyde and in many popular movies like MASH and Rocky. All based around the idea of someone who you shouldn’t like becoming the one you are rooting for. In Bonnie and Clyde, these two bank robbers are stealing and killing, but when they meet their fate, we are sad to see them go. It pushes you away form rooting for your usually hero.

Now we must talk about the biggest film of the 1970s, which was Jaws. This was a huge film not only because it grossed a ton of money, but because it brought a new income to movies. The film made a lot more money off the merchandise. This was a new for a film and was not expected to bring so much money. The selling of merchandise like shirts and toys would be perfected late on with the release of Star Wars.

Next, we started to talk about the midnight movie phenomenon. From our partial screening we learned how it started with a film called “El Topo” and how it was a smash at midnight screening. Unfortunately, that was the only place it worked. When it was brought and tried to be played during the day it tanked. Which I found funny, like a movie at midnight is a huge success, but at any other time it sucked. I think there is draw to midnight events like movies or for me growing up it was midnight bowling. I think it was just fun to get out of the house and be out late with your buddies. This idea is like how American International Pictures did so well. It found a huge niche market and was able to be very successful from it.

We then went on and experienced the most well known and most popularized midnight movie, Rocky Horror Picture Show. This was more than what I expected. I knew it was supposed to be a stranger film based on many of the early horror films with many references to them. I didn’t think I would like it that much. I can see now, especially after reading the script for the audience why it was so popular. I bet being in a theater and everyone at the same time speaking as the movie goes on is great fun. I know I caught myself laughing and being surprised as Dr. Gagne shouted out some of these responses. It was so much enjoyment with the film alone, especially when I stopped seeing Tim Curry as the clown from IT.

One of my disappointments to the film was how quickly Meatloaf or Eddie was killed off and we didn’t get a chance to enjoy his character more. I am a big fan of both Meatloaf and Tim Curry and was hoping for a jam session between the two of them. Also, I never would have known how great of a singer Tim Curry was if it wasn’t for this film.

Leave a comment