1980s

Here we are in the 1980s, a decade full of movies we all know and can reference. As we went over the slides and talked about great films. Everyone in class had that “ohh I love that MOVIE” or “what a classic”. I mean between the film greats like “The Breakfast Club” or all the John Candy movie. The 80s are filled with the film I love, even if they embraced some of the not so great techniques of the 70s.

One of many great scenes from a great movie. I was between this and the golfing part.

We talked about Harry Potter franchise and all the money out there for the industry to make money off. When we first started talking in the 70s about the increase money a film can make by selling merchandise, is now on a whole new level. With so many sources of revenue for most it can seem like a rip off. For most kids of my generation and the one before, this is normal for companies to wrench every cent out of a film. Even if that means it can ruin the franchise as a whole. We have all experienced it, from a horrible remake to a toy or a video game that was just awful. With talking about how big Jaws was, we didn’t even mention its three other sequels. I think this is mainly due to how bad they are or because it just repeated what the first movie did and didn’t change anything from the first film. It is just like going to see an appalling remake and who wants that when you can just watch the first one again. This is what I hate about so many sequels. They try to remake the magic the first film had, and it isn’t the same as the first one.

Now I say how I dislike sequels and yet I still love to watch the Star Wars Saga and the trio of Indian Jones films (not the fourth, that one blows). I think that Spielberg and Lucas have done some great thing and have made some of the best films I know of. I think sometime films are just so very entertaining and enjoyable that you don’t care about them repeating the original.

As we learned more about John Hughes and the films he produced. He reminded me of another director/ producer we learned about a few weeks prior. I kept comparing him to Corman and American International Pictures because just like them, Hughes went to make films that spoke to a younger audience. With Sixteen Candles, Breakfast Club, and Ferris Beuller’s Day Off it was all so relatable for a teenager to relate to.

Now on to the main screening of the week with the Fly. I exited to seen Jeff Goldblum because he has been in many films, I enjoyed like Jurassic Park. At the start I wasn’t sure why Professor was so worried about showing this or why he picks and chooses which semester it will be on. Well, I now know why he does that. It wasn’t how he was acting that got to me. It was they sounds and the looks of Seth Brundle that got me. When he vomited onto his food to break it down and then you could hear him slurp it up was just gross. Even think about it made me want to gag because I can still hear it. Or at the end when he is melting the hand and is spewing this liquid out of his body. I was left with so many gross thoughts and images of his head and body kept deteriorating over the whole film. It was gross, but I may show it to some friends for a chance to view it again.

Had to pick out a more pleasing photo because I cannot stomach another viewing this film

3 thoughts on “1980s

  1. Spencer, I couldn’t agree with you more regarding your statement, “Even if that means it can ruin the franchise.” Jaws is a great movie, but the rest in the series not so much. I love the Indian Jones films and I also agree with you regarding the fourth installment. The Temple of Doom was ok, the actresses constant whinning and screaming was a little annoying. My favorite was the one with Sean Connery. I think the Star Wars franchise also has suffered due to the constant addition of installments. I feel the story line has been drained of the original essence that made the first three great. They wanted to make money and pushed them out too fast, in my very humble opinion. However, that being said, I do continue to see them but not necessarily opening weekend.

    Like

  2. I don’t particularly have a weak stomach when it comes to films with gore or anything disturbing but there was some nasty stuff that happened in “The Fly”. The fact that they pulled off all this nasty makeup and cosmetics makes me think how the audience felt viewing this movie for the first time in the theater. Like when Seth Brundle threw up all over his food, or even the whole process from man to fly and how his face and body just kept peeling. I was not really grossed out by the movie, but this film does by far take the cake for all the gruesome scenes.

    Like

  3. I like that you called the fourth Indiana Jones out specifically, that movie was the most telegraphed cash grab of a movie I can think of. Yeah, franchise fatigue has definitely set in for me lately, especially with films like Star Wars where I really feel that Disney has Marvelified the latest ones. Say what you will about the prequels, at the very least the story was most definitely Star Wars in nature, while the new ones just feel like they’re missing something. The sequel culture that has stuck around since the 80’s has been both a blessing and a curse, a curse because of the reasons I’ve mentioned, a blessing because some of my favorite movies are sequels like Blade Runner 2049. Also I love that you said The Fly was gross but that you might show it to friends, that’s hilarious!

    Like

Leave a comment