Curtain closes – Applause and Standing Ovation

Having never seen, or at least not knowing, about German cinema I found Run Lola Run entertaining.  The first thing that caught my eye was the soundtrack.  My children introduced me to Techno music a couple of years ago, and I love it.  This film is full of Techno music that draws you in and flows well with the images.  Images of Lola running past empty lots, weed infested sidewalks, empty streets, then new opulent buildings.  Lola’s bright hair color, techno music and even the way she dresses gives you a picture of pop culture.  This pop culture undertone is in sharp contrast to the romantic tones.  Manni, as the reading suggest, is infantile in nature and dependent on Lola to make his world right.  Lola takes on the role of provider, guardian, and champion.  This role is in contrast to the normal world and the world that the director has portrayed for Lola.  The Barbie and Ken dolls in the movie along with all the pictures and what appear to be souvenirs show a soft femine side to Lola.  Childhood dreams perhaps.  The movie is an endless spiral of images, music, and story line that is forever spinning.  IN one of the first scenes we see Manni in the phone booth and the words “Spirale” are on a building behind him.  It’s as if the director is warning us to hold on, because things are about to Spiral out of control.  The camera work is constantly moving, different angles and lots of juxsupositioning, which helps to keep the action moving but without boring you.  The cartoon scenes at the beginning of each “run” also tells a story.  In the reading I found this statement on the mark. “The Cartoon launches the viewer into a fantasy world in which anything is possible…”

Spirale translates to Spiral

                I found the facial expressions on Lola, played by actress Franka Potente, to be amazing.  Her silent stare at the various individuals throughout the movie were award winning.  Her blank stare at the security guard, aka father, told a story in itself.  You saw her emotions with a blink of the eye.  I enjoyed Franka’s performance very much.

                The historical undertones in Run Lola run are evident from the beginning.  In the very beginning we hear how a taxi driver took her to Grunewalk Street in East Berlin.  Manni was at Grunewalk Street in West Berlin.  “The mix-up reflects a postunification confusion owning to the divide that still exists between the eastern and western parts of Berlin.”   The reading opened my eyes to the fact that she ran past several important buildings and/or locations such as the Garnision Cemetery and the Gendarmenmarkt in East Berlin, Oberbaumbrucke (a former border crossing), Friederichsstrasse and Kochstarasse in West Berlin.  These are both border crossing locations as well. Now that I know the significance of these locations I want to go back and rewatch the movie to see the angles of the camera and the speed.  It makes we wonder if they have significance as well.

                This film is a magical ride of sight, sound and emotions that tells three stories in one movie at a lightening pace.  And within this movie within a movie it tells the strife of Germany and their near desperate attempt to reconcile the East and West, as well as their past.  Some will see all the political and social undertones to the movie.  I chose to just enjoy the movie for its entertainment factor.

**************

                I originally chose to take this course, “History of Motion Pictures” for three reasons.  1) It fit into my work schedule. 2) I needed a Liberal Arts. 3) Professor Schlegel was recommended by fellow students and co-workers.  However, I received more than 4 credits in Liberal Arts.  I received a whole new appreciation for the motion pictures and the industry.

                Back in high school (1980s) I did a report on Thomas Edison and I credited him with the first motion picture, when I really should have credited him with the first public presentation of motion picture.  Of course, Thomas did build the Black Maria, the first studio, so I guess I wasn’t completely wrong in high school.  J 

Thomas Edison National Historical Park

                I had seen Disney’s History of Animation before class and I could very easily watch it again and again.  This documentary does a wonderful job of giving the history of the beginnings of animation.  I also liked the documentary on Industrial Light and Magic.  ILM explains all about the start of the company, growth and impact on the industry.  Where Disney does this with quiet reverence ILM is flashy, comedic and makes you want to keep watching.  I never realized how influential ILM and special effects are in the films until this documentary.  The amount of special effects used in one of my favorite movies, “Forrest Gump” impressed me.  I now find myself looking and trying to figure out what is real, models or CGI.  Thank you ILM for keeping me on my toes and guessing.  ILM is truly an innovating and reinventing company revitalizing an old medium.

                This class also gave me a better appreciation for silent films.  I still wouldn’t watch one unless I had to, but I know have a better understanding of the magnitude they had on society and more importantly the work needed to make one.  I previous viewed silent films as just these visually dark movies where the actors over exaggerated their facial expressions.  This class made me realize that the scenery, sets, lights, music, camera angles, actors’ expressions and movements are all for dramatic effect.  I would never have noticed the size of items, the angle of the camera, or the lightening before this class.

                I think everyone should see Singing In The Rain to truly appreciate the lengths, trauma, and life changing atmosphere Hollywood was when going from silent films to Talkies.  I have never liked musicals but Singing In The Rain is worth it for story line alone.  Also, you should see any of the Universal Horrors as I feel they have a strong German influence with their dark sets, shadows, and lights.  I like to think about a young kid in a movie theater for the first time watching, and how scaring that must have been.

                This course gave me a greater appreciation for all things Motion Picture related.  I believe that although motion pictures have evolved over time to something amazing and entertaining, they are losing some of their appeal.  How many car chases, throat slashing, teenage sex scenes can we watch and be entertained?  Yes, I have watched all the Avenger movies, however with each movie I am slightly more disenchanted.   The bottom line….I love movies and thanks to History of Motion Pictures I can appreciate them much more but also expect more out of them.

2 thoughts on “Curtain closes – Applause and Standing Ovation

  1. I agree that Franka Potente was such an incredible actress in Run Lola Run. Her facial expressions alone can tell a whole story. It almost feels as if you can tell what she has been through. Franka Potente is the main reason why this movie works the way it does. Lola, is larger than life, and shows she can do anything she wants because of her resolve. I think she does an outstanding job as Lola. I also enjoyed your full recap of the semester. You said that this class gave you a better appreciation for silent films, which is interesting because I felt like it was harder for me to enjoy the black and white silent films. Great final blog.

    Like

  2. I agree with much of your final blog. Lola’s stare is so intense, it is like she can cut people with her glare alone. Maybe she can. Her scream is powerful enough! Silent films were things I never considered watching until recently. But most of all, I agree with your final paragraph. Modern film has reached a stagnant point. In comparison to films like Bonnie & Claude, or Jaws, or Ben-Hur, many movies of today look better but aren’t as impactful in the long run.

    Although I didn’t comment every week on your blogs, I enjoyed them all. You’re a good writer who’s not afraid to tell it like it. Great final blog!

    Like

Leave a comment